Score International 2018 Baja 1000 final results

November 21st, 2018

Ensenada, Baja California.

Cameron Steele with his No. 16 Monster Energy Desert Assassins Geiser Bros. built Ford Raptor, was confirmed on Sunday as the winner of the 51st edition of the Baja 1000 off-road race. His time was 16 hours, 24 minutes and 2 seconds. It is the second SCORE Trophy Truck race win in his career and second straight after winning in Tijuana in September.

2018 Baja 1000 Race

The first one to cross the finish line was Rob MacCachren, but he received a penalty and dropped to third place. Second was Andy McMillin who covered the 807 miles in 16h 28m 51s (penalty-free time). Apdaly Lopez, winner of the Baja 1000 in 2017 finished in the 12th place with 19:55:34.

Here’s what Steele said after the race: “The whole team really deserves this. This isn’t just about one driver or two drivers, it’s about everyone that puts the will in and I just want to thank my wife and baby because they give up a lot for us to be here and I love them. And I love the people of Baja. Thank you. Thank you Mexico, thank you Baja because this is our life, we come here, we love this place, we love these people. If it’s true that we won the SCORE Baja 100, it will be pretty amazing to put the Steele name on top for the overall. My dad started doing this in 1971 and we never achieved the overall so this is pretty cool.

Some interesting facts about the race:

  • Number of Total Starters: 285,
  • Number of Total Finishers: 178
  • There were drivers from 41 U.S. States, as well as from U.S. Territory-Guam, Host Mexico, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil,Canada, Costa Rica, England, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, New Zealand, Peru, Spain and Sweden

Winners in different classes

Francisco Septien (Honda CRF450X). Time: 22:04:00

Liz Karcz (Honda CRF450X). Time: 34:40:14

Clyde Stacy

Wayne Matlock (Polaris RZR XP4 Turbo). Time: 20:25:18

See our tours

Customer reviews

Subscribe to our newsletter